Top 5: Reasons Why I’ve Stuck with iOS for 7 Years

There is no denying it, I’m perhaps more of a fan of iOS over Android.

It all started with my iPod Touch 2nd Generation that I got in 2009 (2nd Gen. initially released in 2008), of which I have owned and used it until late 2013, when I got my iPhone 5s and iPad Air 1.

In this post, I discuss the 5 reasons why I’ve stuck with iOS for this whole time.

5. Smaller Phone Size

Screen Shot 2016-03-22 at 11.47.17 AM

I still to this day have not used a phone with a screen larger than 4.0inches on a daily basis.

I still believe that iOS is better suited for smaller screen sizes like the iPhone 4, 4s, 5, 5c, 5s and the recent SE.

However, I am more and more by the day, heavily looking into upgrading to a larger screened phone (SE doesn’t appeal enough to me) and I do hope that iOS 10 at WWDC 2016 in a couple of weeks, does help make the larger iPhones more single handed-friendly with features like app icon placement anywhere on the home screen, like Android.

With the smaller phone comes better single handed usability and easier to put in your pocket, of which I really like in a phone.

If you look at it from a different perspective, Android does have smaller phones with a 4.3inch or smaller screen, but none of them are flagship devices, they are all phablets.

4. Apple Ecosystem

iOSAppStore

The Apple Ecosystem is a great ecosystem.

The App Store is not perfected but is vastly better than Google Play in terms of quality of apps released by developers.

I also use iTunes on a daily basis and I can hear those people now saying that iTunes is rubbish, but really there’s nothing majorly wrong with it. Sure the navigation could be a bit better (after the 12.4 update) and it could benefit from being separated into separate music, videos, podcasts etc. apps on OS X from a navigation and computer resources perspective, but they are minor issues.

macbookproretina

I am also invest in hardware for the Apple Ecosystem, with an iPhone 5s, iPad Air (1) and MacBook Pro Retina (Late 2013) of which I adore.

I also recently signed up to Apple Music and I personally enjoy using it and get more out of it then I did from trying out Spotify. I don’t have any real issues with Apple Music, but there are definitely some features that need to be added back or included, such as lyrics support and rearrangeable tabs including default tab to load when you open the app every-time.

3. Fan of the UI/UX Experience

iOS-9-new-app-switcher

One of the main reasons I got an iPhone 5s and iPad Air and thus upgrading from my iPod Touch 2G, was because of the UI Redesign of iOS 7.

Not everyone likes it, but I am quite a fan of the flat look and how it looks cleaner and not as dated.

I also felt like OS X Yosemite was a massive update on my MacBook, having first used Mavericks and to be honest, looks a lot better on a Retina Display.

2. App Development

xcode

As I am sure you would already know by now, I am in my spare time, an indie app developer.

I do not dislike Android app development with a passion, but I do personally enjoy creating apps more for iOS.

swift

Swift is one of the my favourite languages as it removes all of the clutter and simplifies the language when it comes to producing code, learning new APIs etc. and reading code at a later time and adding to it.

From an indie developer perspective, despite the higher cost per year for app distribution, I have currently seen 4x more downloads on iOS than I do on Android and that is mainly from general search etc.

For those who are interested, I currently have a couple of apps out on the App Store that I encourage you to check out:

IconFinal
Shopping Australia App Icon – Launched September 2015

Shopping Australia – iOS: https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/shopping-australia/id1043475309?mt=8

Shopping Australia – Android: http://bit.ly/1ja2qdz

Kelly Pool – iOS: https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/kelly-pool/id1112029797?mt=8

1. Constant Software Updates

I’m sure even Android fans can agree that Google’s Android operating system is a fragmented mess.

There are lot of factors when it comes to software updates on Android:

  • New Operating System Update (even with bug fixes or security patches).
  • Approval to distribute updates in each country on each phone carrier/network.
  • Manufacturers adding their own software on-top of stock Android (e.g. TouchWiz on Samsung).
  • Manufacturers not wanting to push out updates to older devices as doesn’t result in more sales for them.

iOS completely eliminates all of these, because when Apple pushes out an update, everyone in the world gets an option to update to it via Settings -> General -> Software Update, all within an hour of release from Apple.

This is all because Apple gets close partnerships with phone carriers to convince them that they just need to worry about the network and they’ll handle everything with the phones themselves from hardware to software, to services and compatibility with the carrier’s networks.

This is just not possible today with Android devices. FACT!

It is also nice to actually get software update on your device because it makes it feel like you are looked after post purchase and you purchased a product that keeps on giving with new features and services on a yearly basis.

That’s it for this post, thank you all for reading.

If you enjoyed this please give it a like here or on Twitter, and follow me here on WordPress or on Twitter @neilh_apps.

 

